Chinese New Year – crab!

14 Jan

I’ve been lucky for the last few years to work for someone who really loves good food. He also happens to be from Hong Kong, which means that on special occasions, I get to have really good Chinese food.

Vancouver of course, is quite well known for having a big Chinese community and therefore, a great assortment of Chinese restaurants. There’s so many regions of the country’s delicacies being represented in this city, we don’t have to be confined to certain restaurants that seem to do it all, from sweet and sour pork to xiao long bao.

Dynasty Seafood Restaurant is on Broadway and Willow and it’s my boss and his family’s favorite for big dinners as well as dim sum.

We had the usual smorgasbord of dishes but this is the beautiful crab, covered in salty and spicy breadcrumbs that I think were fried. I could have eaten spoonfuls of it!

20120114-112115.jpg

These little crabs on the other hand, have been in our office for about a week and I’ve had a hard time not snacking on a couple every time I walk by them.

20120114-112214.jpg
They’re from Japan and are teeny tiny and cooked in soy sauce and mirin. They’re sweet and salty and crunchy. Apparently they use crabs that only get to this size…I hope.

20120114-112507.jpg

Leave a comment